Monthly Archives: March 2017

On Wednesday, March 29 ninety new members were inducted to the DHS Chapter of the National Honor Society.  Current members invited Franny Bittman (English Department) to give the Faculty Address.

national honor society induction 007.jpg

The National Honor Society is a service organization that aims to benefit our school and community; these students were selected because they have consistently met the highest standards of scholarship, service, character, and leadership.  Congratulations to our new members and look for their names to be listed in the Awards Ceremony program in May!


On Saturday, March 25, 2017 our Technology Student Association (TSA) attended their first state conference and competed against high schools from across Connecticut in various engineering, technology, and problem solving activities. The TSA has been preparing for the competition for the past few months but did not know what to expect at this year’s conference. Their dedication and hard work has paid off as the members from the team were able to bring home nine trophies on the day. Well done gentlemen!  And thank you to their Faculty Adviser Greg Darin (Tech Ed) for all your assistance getting this group off the ground this year.


Gregory Darin (TSA advisor), Teddy Nolan, Evan Tong, Tanmay Mehta, Bailey O’Mara, John Harron, Clifford Blaze, Barak Mustafa.

Their awards included: Teddy Nolan, recognized as a High School Senior member of TSA; Evan Tong, 3rd Place in Flight Endurance; Evan Tong and Tanmay Mehta, 3rd Place in Debating Technical Issues; Bailey O’Mara and Clifford Blaze, 2nd Place in Debating Technical Issues; Barak Mustafa and John Harron, 2nd Place in Structural Engineering;  Clifford Blaze, 1st Place in Extemporaneous Speech; Tanmay Mehta, 1st Place in Prepared Presentation

Congratulations to our Model United Nations Club who won the best small delegation award at Boston College’s Model UN Conference this past weekend.  The club is led by Faculty Member Dennis Cabrera (Social Studies/History). Model United Nations is a simulation in which students learn about diplomacy, international relations, and the United Nations. Well done Brendan Berrigan, Michael Borecki, Mila Escajadillo, James Johnson, Henry Keena, Alex Mostofi, Taylor Richards, Arushi Samal, and Alex Wang!


 Brendan Berrigan and Mila Escajadillo also took individual awards for Best Delegate within their respective committees.

We were thrilled to have the Athletics Department organize a two day visit from Elliot Hopkins, a nationally known speaker on hazing prevention and team building. Mr. Hopkins traveled from Indiana to speak with all our sports team coaches on Thursday night, and then gave a different presentation to the sports team captains on Friday morning. Besides his extensive work for, Mr. Hopkins presented what may be his most impressive credential – the challenges he faced as a two-year Captain of the a 2-20 Wake Forest University football team in 1977-78. We had a Demon Deacon in the house!


We are always proud of our students and I believe the message they received today was one of inclusion and giving voice to all team members, regardless of their grade.  Mr. Hopkins encouraged our students to look at team building and bonding in a new way, for example by volunteering at various venues to create shared experiences that are productive in nature.  The “C” designation is a privilege we all recognize and I feel confident we will have a stronger athletics program after what we heard today from Mr. Hopkins. Thank you to all our faculty for their patience in excusing the captains from first period class this morning, and thank you as well to the captains who as always make me so very thankful to be principal of such amazing young people. Let’s go Blue Wave!

On  March 13, 67 students competed at the DECA State Competition with over 1,000 Connecticut students.  We had the most students place with eleven students placing in the top three of their business events.  Congratulations and thanks to Faculty Advisor Claudia Gray who wrangles this very popular club.


 1st Place – Nadia Czebiniak – Food Marketing Series

1st Place – Paul Hager – Restaurant and Food Service Management Series

1st Place – Erik Ryan – Quick Serve Restaurant Management Series

2nd Place – Casey Martin – Business Finance Series

3rd Place – Brendan Berrigan – Accounting Applications Series

3rd Place – Griffin Samroengraja – Personal Financial Literacy

3rd Place – Owen Stevens – Hospitality and Tourism Professional Selling

3rd Place – Rory Washecka – Principles of Finance

3rd Place – Mila Escajadillo – Business Services Marketing Series

3rd Place Team – Ria Dhull & Nina Rodriguez – Financial Series Team Decision Making

Placed 4-6 – Corrine Bevill & Lauren Larizza – Travel and Tourism Team Decision Making

Placed 4-6 – Ben Bidell & AJ Scolaro – Marketing Management Team Decision Management

Placed 4-6 – Mimi Markham – Franchising Management Plan

Presidential Candidate Scholar Photo.JPG

Count them! Seven!  Congratulations to DHS Seniors who have been named Presidential Scholar candidates.  From left, Kyra Balenzano, Emily Torrente, Keenan Warble, Michael Borecki, Samuel Pftommer,  Liam Russell and William Brandon. We will learn soon if we have any finalists but we are very proud of all our students.  Well done.

Over the weekend days of February 25 and 26 our Math Modeling Club fielded two teams in the Moody’s Mega Math Challenge, our inaugural participation. The competition is sponsored by the Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics (SIAM) and Moody’s credit agency.  Modeling Club meets weekly and has this far spent the year learning the SIAM math modeling process and applying it to answer questions like designing an efficient (in terms of service and use of floor space) elevator system for a high rise, or the economic viability of hosting the Olympic games depending on the demographics of the host country in preparation for the competition.

moodys 1

In the competition, students are given 14 hours to identify and clarify the problem, make reasonable assumptions and define variables, create, interpret, and refine a mathematical model of the scenario, and then write up the results (typically a 15-20 page paper) – all in a continuous 14 hour block on the weekend!  This year the problem focused on the impact of potential sea level changes over the next fifty years to five national parks and how best to allocate federal funds to those parks based on the model developed.   Students who participated were on two teams: Liam Russell, Sam Pfrommer, Dan Pfrommer, Brendan Berrigan, and Sam Scott on one team, and James Johnson, Griffin Ott, Ari Singer-Freeman, Matt Shabet, and Kyra Balenzano on the other.

moodys 2

Our teams in action…

moodys 3…from morning…

moodys 4…through night.

Congratulations to the hard work, diligence, and effort put forth by the two teams.  All had a good time and found it to be a very worthwhile experience – especially for those students interested in pursuing physics, math, or engineering.  We are looking forward to see how the teams submissions do in the competition this year!