Monthly Archives: June 2017

DHS Theatre 308 is thrilled to announce two state-wide awards for this year’s fall drama “As you like it,” the gender-bender, mistaken-identity comedy by William Shakespeare. Grady Allen won Best Leading Actor in a Classic Play for his role as Orlando. Five students were recognized for the original music they both wrote and performed in the play: Jack Savage, Evelyn Sload, Isabelle Hole, Caeleigh O’Conner , and Elizabeth Kelly. All together, Theatre 308 was nominated for 17 awards for both of their productions “As you like it” and “Legally Blonde.”

halo 2

Isabelle Hole, Jack Savage, and Evelyn Sload (Best Original or Incidental Music in a Play)

In addition to these two awards for the high school, DPS Middlesex Middle School teacher Tim Sorensen was recognized for 10 years of leading outstanding middle school theater. He was the only middle school teacher recognized by the Halos. Sorensen has also been nominated for the 2017 Tony Award (Excellence in Theater Education).

halo 1.jpg

Tim Sorensen with Grady Allen​ (Best Lead Actor in a Classic Play)


DHS students Emily Knapp and Hayden Edwards, after studying the composition of formal letters in the Spanish language, practiced their new learning by writing to the Consulate of El Salvador to invite the Consul to personally visit Darien High School. To their amazement and delight, Consul Pedro Sánchez and his associate, Julia Rodríguez Acosta, accepted the invitation and journeyed to Darien to address a large group of students on Friday, May 26th.  DHS junior Caroline Lui sang the National Anthem of El Salvador to welcome our visitors.


Consul Sánchez spoke to the students – in Spanish – about his country, answered many questions, showed a brief video about El Salvador, and explained the role of a consul — surprising the audience by saying that his duties extend from New York to Pennsylvania.

Thank you students for your warm welcome, and thank you to World Language Faculty member Jonathan Smith for expanding our horizons!

Darien High School earned a charter to open a chapter of Mu Alpha Theta Mathematics National Honor Society this school year.  The goal of Mu Alpha Theta is to recognize high achieving mathematics students and to share the beauty and joy of mathematics with others in the community.  In order to be eligible for induction students must maintain an A- GPA in mathematics, have completed or are enrolled in a 400 level mathematics course, and participate in at least one math-related activity outside of standard coursework.  On Wednesday May 24th, the DHS chapter of Mu Alpha Theta inducted its first 46 members.

mu alpha

The induction was led by President Mila Escajadillo and Vice President Andrew Benz. Following induction, students were recognized for achievement in Moody’s Mega Math Challenge, Math Majors of America Tournament for High Schools, and the American Mathematics Competition (AMC).

Darien High School was recognized by the largest professional mathematics organization, the Mathematics Association of America, with a Certificate of Merit for the achievement of our top students on the AMC.  We are so proud of all our mathematically curious students! And thank you as well to your tireless Math Faculty Member Matt Buchta who is your loudest cheerleader.

Sophomores: Ria Dhull, Aram Russell

Juniors: Corinne Bevill, Keilani Caruso, Abigail Cragin, Alex Dehmel, John Goll, Paul Hager, Lauren Larizza, Caroline Lui, Angela Mehta, Albert Nguyen, Bailey O’Mara, Griffin Ott, Daniel Pfrommer, Adeline Schoen, Sam Scott, Matthew Shabet, Ari Singer-Freeman, Julia Tong, Alex Wang, Rory Washecka

Seniors: Susie Alptekin, Lucy Armstrong, Kyra Balenzano, Andrew Benz, Brendan Berrigan, Michael Borecki, Komal Dhull, JeanPierre Documet, Mia Dursht, Mila Escajadillo, Harrison Gill, Katie Huffert, James Johnson, Vivienne Le, Valerie Le, Olivia Lew, Emily Markham, Gauri Misra, Caleigh Morr, Samuel Pfrommer, William Russell, Colin Shaughnessy, Emily Torrente, Samantha Wind

Please congratulate Cristina Canora, Lucy Armstrong, Courtney Lowe, and Kristen Picard for having work selected to be in the iCreate! Art Show at the Bruce Museum in Greenwich CT.  The selection was made from the judging of over 700 2D submissions, then selected from around 125 pieces from the second round. iCreate will be on exhibit from June 17-July 30, 2017 in the Bruce Museum’s Bantle Lecture Gallery.  More information can be found on the iCreate! website. Click here for a news article from the Greenwich Time newspaper. 


Cristina Canora


Lucy Armstrong (portrait of Emily Wright)


Courtney Lowe (self-portrait)


Kristen Picard

Two DHS art students won first and second place at the 10th Annual  “Going For Green” contest sponsored by the Darien Chamber of Commerce and Darien Bank and Trust, and was hosted by the Darien Nature Center.

Johnathan Stimpson won first with his entry:

green 1

Lauren Jennings took second with hers:

green 3

Lauren with her poster at the awards ceremony (Johnathan was unable to attend):

green 2

Congratulations to Johnathan and Lauren.  Look for their designs in Chamber of Commerce member businesses around town!

Social Studies Faculty Member Chris Buckley shared this photo of students working in the DHS Courtyard recently.  What’s better than an inviting chair and interesting course material?  (You’ll notice a pair of crutches in the photo – so appealing that student hobbled out there!) Thank you to our parents association and graduated classes who have purchased all these chairs for our student body to use.


As the school year races to a close, there are a few outstanding posts to share.

Science Faculty Member Kristen Lisjak led her class in a neuron model-making activity.  Another Science Faculty Member Michelle Wisnieski reported that it was exciting to see how each group independently to demonstrate their understanding of the neuron without collaborating with other groups in the class. Well done!